Sat, 4/28

Today was the official start of the BCCC challenge! Aaaand I was way out of whack compared to the last couple days. Weekends are always different for me. I’m usually home allllll day sitting at my desk working on my own artwork. I usually drink way too much coffee, don’t drink any water at all, and eat at really weird times. It’s also common that I eat way too little, or snack all day. Schedules are very important to my nutrition being consistent I think…. haha. Also, I generally don’t work out or do anything physically active on the weekends unless I bike someplace further away – which I purposely told myself I couldn’t do today because I’m falling behind on drawing deadlines. I set a “daily calorie goal” in my app, and I hit my calories by lunch time. This happened the past two days as well, but then I worked out and burned a bunch and ended up on track. Should I eat less on inactive days? That would make sense, but I was still starving all day. I also didn’t get enough protein today, but did get a little too much carbs and fat. This food tracker app is actually pretty great because I’ve never really known what foods contain what nutrients, as silly as that sounds. It’s always been rudimentary. Beans have protein! Oranges have vitamin C. Flax has Omega 3’s. Etc. I’ve honestly never stopped to consider the carb content of Kale, which is on the high side for a vegetable. Who knew? The things I ate today with the most carbs? Quinoa, obviously. Raisins. Kale. Apple. Maple Syrup (duh). All of these things had over 10g of carbs, whereas everything else fell around 0-5g each. I’m shooting for 100-150g of carbs a day. Today I was at 180.

photo (5) photo (4) photo (3) photo (2) photo (1) photo

Woke up: 8:00am (I can hardly believe this feels like “sleeping in” to me, but it does. I got 9 hours of sleep!)

Breakfast, 9:15 at home: 1.5 cups of cooked quinoa, 1tbsp local maple syrup, 1 cup almond milk, 1tsp cinnamon, 1sm. apple, 1 tbsp hemp seeds, 1 tbsp coconut flakes (unsweetened, organic)
Liquid: 8oz water. 20oz coffee (2 mugs)
Supplements/meds: 30mg zinc, 2000mcg B12, zyrtec

Lunch, 2:15pm: 2 cups sauteed kale w/lemon juice and sea salt, roasted veggies (5 carrots, 1 potato, 2 broccoli stems (the tough parts), with paprika, cinnamon, garlic, salt, old bay and coconut oil, 2 tbsp sprouts

Liquid, 5:00pm: at around 5 i realized i hadn’t drank any water at all yet today. so i treated myself to a big sparkling water, which is what helped me stop being addicted to soda! whenever i crave soda i drink sparkling water instead.

Exercise, 5:30-6:30: carried home two heavy bags full of groceries, about a 15 minute walk, counts right? they were heavy enough that i had to stop and let my arms rest a couple times.

Pre-Dinner Snack: 3 slices of Havarti cheese. I waited too long to make dinner and was staaarving. I ate this while I cooked.

Dinner, 8:30pm: 2 eggs, 4 slices of eggplant dry sauteed as bread, mixed greens, a tbsp of mayo, 1/8 cup grated raw milk havarti/cheddar, hot sauce. Asparagus sauteed in butter, with garlic, dijon mustard, and 1tsp of honey, salt and pepper.
Liquid: 16 oz sparkling water

Bed: 11:30pm

About everydaypants

Ramsey Beyer grew up on a farm in Michigan before escaping to city life in Baltimore, MD, where she received a BFA in experimental animation. She currently lives in Philadelphia, PA. Ramsey and her sidekick, Rover, live in a row house with some roommates in a very organized living space. She drinks too much coffee, works as a nanny, and loves to keep her hands busy with all sorts of projects. Ramsey spends her time gardening, riding her bike all over Philly, taking Rover for long walks, and spending way too many hours at a time working on comics in coffeeshops. Ramsey just finished drawing her first graphic novel length comic book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

