Day 11: 6/7

Image

 

Notes: Phewwwwwwwww this was a tough one. It was torrentially downpouring the entire day, and I was stuck inside for 9 hours with a clingy 11 month old baby, and a 14 month old who had decided earlier that week that he was going to start acting like a defiant teenager. It was the longest. day. ever. On top of that, I hadn’t really gotten enough sleep most nights last week. Because of my newfound limitless energy (thanks challenge), I wasn’t exhausted by 9pm any night last week and had to really make myself go to bed by midnight. Unfortunately, that isn’t extremely sustainable when I still have to wake up at 6am and spend a whole day wrangling small kids, go to the gym, and spend evenings working on projects around the house. I still need to sleep even if I feel energized and I need to keep reminding myself that so I don’t get burnt out. So coupled with the dreary weather, I was in a pretty awful mood and fighting some serious sugar cravings. I did let them get the best of me around 4pm when my day was in its 8th hour and had some dark chocolate covered espresso beans. They were sugary as fuck. I ended up skipping the gym because the rain meant I wasn’t on my bike, and wouldn’t have been able to commute to the gym, commute home by public transit and still have time for dinner before going to my Ladyfest volunteer shift. So that’s that. Only two days at the gym last week. What can you do? 

Activity:
took bus today =0( and it’s so rainy – no exercise! just on my feet all day chasing kids.

Food: 
7:00am - 3/4 cup strawberries, 2 tbsp sunflower seed butter, coffee with splash of almond milk
9am - needed some more substantial protein in order to feel full, ate a greek yogurt from nanny house, has sugar added
12:30pm - cauliflower coconut soup with one scrambled egg on top, cucumber “noodles” with spicy sunflower seed butter sauce – so good!
3:30pm - serious rainy day blues. fighting the sugar cravings so hard and broke down a little. ate a big bowl of raw cashews, raw almonds, prunes, and dark chocolate covered espresso beans, two slices of melon – was totally responding to a gloomy day sugar craving
6pm - had to race through dinner to get to ladyfest volunteer shift. made a quick omelette with zuchinni, red onion, kale, red pepper, habanero cheddar cheese, ate leftover sides of boiled peas with e.v.o.o. and lemon juice, kale salad with tomatoes and sesame oil an balsamic
10pm - late night snack on the go – ran to the grocery store toward the end of ladyfest night one and ate clean-ishhhhh – carrot and celery sticks with guacamole, sweet potato chips (bad oil) and bobbie’s hummous (soy bean oil)

 

Not the best day I’ve ever had, but not terrible considering what I was up against. I’m trying to be realistic about the fact that I’m not gonna be able to do this thing perfectly. 

About everydaypants

Ramsey Beyer grew up on a farm in Michigan before escaping to city life in Baltimore, MD, where she received a BFA in experimental animation. She currently lives in Philadelphia, PA. Ramsey and her sidekick, Rover, live in a row house with some roommates in a very organized living space. She drinks too much coffee, works as a nanny, and loves to keep her hands busy with all sorts of projects. Ramsey spends her time gardening, riding her bike all over Philly, taking Rover for long walks, and spending way too many hours at a time working on comics in coffeeshops. Ramsey just finished drawing her first graphic novel length comic book.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 11: 6/7

  1. kimmy says:

    Realism gets a thumbs up. I try to avoid saying Paleo as much as possible, people get the wrong idea, particularly now when it seems like Paleo is experiencing some unnecessary backlash (i.e. being “debunked”) So even though I’m one of the stricter people I know .. I still eat a cookie sometimes. It sounds like you’re doing great. And good on your roommates!

    So impressed you’ve been able to get back up to 75# in such a short period of time. That’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

